Squeeshy Thing 1: Life After College – The Lessons That College Taught Me

by SqueeshyThings

the big lesson that college taught me.

I have obtained my bachelors in music business!

I could not be any happier, I’m so excited to finally have accomplished college. I’m from Mexico and graduating high school is a milestone, let alone college. Anyways, I’m very proud of myself for being the first member in my family to go and graduate college.

I must admit, it was long and dreary but definitely worth it. I’m so blessed and thankful to have gone for a career that I’m passionate about. I had questioned it at the beginning simply because I was influenced by the “adults” to not go for a risky career that guarantees me no success. I was so close to enrolling in local college for business, even though there isn’t anything wrong that field, it’s not what I wanted to do.

I followed my heart and went for it, but I didn’t do it on my own, I had the support of loved ones. For a while, like any other college student, I questioned whether if that’s what I wanted to do, or maybe I wanted to be in the film industry.

College sure makes you questions a lot of things about yourself, like your SANITY! Sometimes we bitch and complaint about the awfulness of college, and it’s not until it’s over that you realize what a wonderful growing experience it is.

  1. It prepares you for the environment you’re going to be working in
  2. It teaches you about your strengths and weaknesses
  3. Core values, such as respect, honesty, and responsibility
  4. Behavioral skills, like discipline, organization, and time management
  5. Most importantly, it teaches you to never give up

I love both, but I couldn’t decide. Just when I was slipping away, I took Music Supervision, a month before my graduation. It’s like I had fallen in love all over again, it was the perfect mix between music and film combined. I initially wanted to do music marketing, a&r, and management. But I was starting to question it’s environment. Music Supervision sparked this interest in me and I researched and researched and spent countless hours on the internet just admiring it’s beauty. I guess what I am trying to get at, it’s that this is a new beginning for me. I figured out what I want to be a part of, I feel secure with my decision like never before.

What lessons have you learned from your experience?

I’m so blessed to be a college graduate, honestly…I don’t feel like one yet LOL, I still feel like I haven’t graduated high school.

Jess
xoxo

Currently Listening To: Intro by The xx – Enjoy!

Twitter: @jcontreras192
Instagram: @jcontreras192

